Who I Am

How do you start a blog, and introduce yourself to anyone who might stop by, without seeming awkward? I’ve come to the conclusion that you don’t. So here goes:

Hi there! My name is Mariah. I’ve been married to my fully wonderful husband for 15 mostly wonderful years (you know, there are always difficult years…I fully believe getting through those is what makes the rest so wonderful!), and we have 4 beautiful, amazing, and smart but also sometimes bratty and selfish children, 3 of whom are adopted. We’re really a pretty typical family…we love, we laugh, we fight, we yell. The good with the bad and all that. But mostly, we just live. We try to enjoy this beautiful life God has given to us, and each other, as much as possible.

About me? Well, I’m a mom. And a wife. And also, I’m me. I have interests and concerns and needs apart from the mom and wife roles, and I have come to a point in my life I refuse to let those get pushed to the back. Life is a balance and I’m trying really hard to juggle it all – just like every other mom out there! My interests are vast. I feel like I’m one of those people who love to do everything but aren’t extremely good at any one thing. I love to be creative, although I don’t feel all that good at it most of the time. I like decorating, repurposing, cooking, baking, party planning, crafting…you see what I mean? I’m also a little OCD and a perfectionist with a knack for getting stressed out – so you can imagine how some of those things I love work out for me! I’m sure I’ll share a few stories about some of those things gone wrong.

2013 will be a busy year for us. Our oldest daughter is 15 and learning to drive. Our sons, 12 & 11, are always involved in some sport. And our “baby” girl is 9 going on 20, struggling to decide whether she’s a tomboy who love sports and bugs, or a girly girl who loves sparkles and fashion (I am hoping to make her realize she can be both). Besides all of the ‘normal life stuff’, we will be planning a 13th birthday, a “Sweet Sixteen” birthday (remember, I love party planning? So birthdays have always been a big thing for us, but milestone birthdays even more so), and a Disney World vacation. Oh, and my husband and I are trying to start a business this year! You will be hearing much more about those things later, though.

All in all, what this blog is about for me is just a place to come to share my little corner of life…my passions, my creations and also my frustrations and probably sometimes (hopefully not a lot) some sadness. For anyone who happens to stumble upon the ride: fasten your seatbelts, hands inside the cart at all times – and, please, try not to throw up on me!

Leave a Reply

